I noticed a new feature where archiving a thread with HO automatically cancels any open application.
There doesn’t seem to have been an announcement about this change, thus sitters have been caught by surprise when they discover that their applications have been withdrawn without them realizing it.
Could you share some background on why this feature was introduced and what problem it’s intended to solve?
This has been addressed in previous threads and it was announced in the August 2026 THS newsletter (weeks after it was already implemented) Nobody has given a good explanation as to the reasoning. There is now a pop-up warning that open applications will be cancelled if archived. Initially there wasn’t the pop-up.
It’s still an incredibly bad idea. Archiving means tidying it away, organising your inbox, shelving for later. It doesn’t mean delete and cancel. Why on earth THS think this is a good plan in trying to manage members admin is mind boggling! #reverseplease
I would like to archive the conversation with the last pet sitter I contacted last summer, but it isn’t working; I get an error message and the conversation remains in my inbox. Thanks everyone for your help.
If this is happening on the TrustedHousesitters app, deleting and reinstalling the app can sometimes clear temporary issues.
If you’re still having the same chellenge archiving a discussion, please do reach out to our Membership Services team at support@trustedhousesitters.com