Do you read applications or just view profiles?

I’m quite surprised when I receive no answer to discover owners have not taken even the time to read my messages !
Sometimes they still have not chosen any candidate yet but have already declined my application (without reading it as I can see under my message “unread”)

So I’m really curious : do some owners when they receive applications just click on the head of messages, look at the profiles, the reviews and read only a few of messages ? Not all ? As obviously a few owners are unable to make their choice and leave their listing for weeks and get more than 30 answers sometimes…

As I 've got already 5 reviews, all positive, I 'm wondering : is it my age which is repulsive ? How can I know ?

Being an owner myself and occasionnally a sitter i can’t understand this attitude. Is it frequent ? I would like to know

1 Like

Hello, Provence,
I’m very new to Trusted Housesitters, and have only one pre-sit experience so far. But I read and responded to each one. I like it when someone takes the time to write an individualized reply, and I feel they deserve a reply from me. I read both the message as well as the profile and reviews of the sitters who apply. Since I’m trusting my beloved dog and my home to someone, I must do my due diligence.

5 Likes

Welcome to the group ; thanks to have replied : you are the first owner in 2 weeks time to do so…

1 Like

I always read all the message. Honestly, the message means more to me than the profile. It tells me if the sitter read my listing, understands where we are and what the limitations are our here (we live in a pretty rural place in Alaska). Then I go to the profile. Not so much the reviews, more what they wrote about themselves.
I also reply to each and every message I get.

8 Likes

I always read and respond to all messages when looking for a sitter

1 Like