Has anyone had the system 'withdraw' their app?

Hi all, apparently a host was about to offer me a sit this morning, but noticed I had ‘withdrawn’ my app in our message thread.

I had no intention of withdrawing it (!), and it seems it happened sometime in middle of the night, and so i wondered if this were a glitch that happens sometimes? Or did i inadvertently press something? It cost me the sit, very unfortunately! Ack.

Did you by chance archive this communication in the inbox as THS has decided to cancel any applications if sitter has archived them from their Inbox? We have yet to be given the reason as to how this makes the process smoother!!!

Omg, it is possible that I did that!! Ugh. How weird that they’d do that as a consequence!

Thank you—I think that’s what happened!!

If it’s not too late, explain this action by THS to that owner. I hope you still get the sit @Jcat33.

Thank you. It was too late…:frowning: But now I’ll know, going forward…

What a shame @Jcat33 you missed out on the sit. Sadly you won’t be the only one who falls victim to this “new improvement” by THS.

I’m sorry you lost out on that sit- how disappointing. I saw the THS announcement the other day they were going to cancel all spplications that get archived- goodness knows why they think that’s a good idea?!! My immediate thought was that exactly such a situation could happen. :woozy_face: I often archive conversations to tidy up my inbox and archiving an application could happen by accident.. It was a completely unnecessary and annoying tweak to the system.

Thank you! Yes, I didn’t see that announcement unfortunately, and thought that tidying up our inboxes was our own concern, nothing that would affect anything else! Ugh! Thanks for your empathy! :slight_smile:

Wild that they think this is beneficial to anyone. Urgh! Thank you.

I was puzzled after listing a sit yesterday that two of three applicants had withdrawn. One explained it happened when she archived the sit, so I was able to suggest to the other one this might be the cause. I find the THS website fairly clunky to use but surely, it’s a basic process to warn anyone archiving messages that this will cancel their application? I’ll add a warning to my listing in future that archiving will immediately result in their application being withdrawn. But really THS needs to make this explicit as it’s a very stupid consequence.

@Miloandtara It’s a “new improvement” :laughing: with no explanation from THS as to why this is needed. Sitters actually do see a message about what will happen if they archive a listing which they have applied for if I remember rightly, and this “new improvement” was mentioned in the monthly Trusted Times in possibly the August or July edition emailed to members.