International Sits

I am new to the service and super excited to get started! Before I signed up to sit I had literally mapped out multiple great and interesting opportunities (and started researching travel) but by the time I completed the process, every single one had disappeared (I mean about 15 of them). I am wondering if the HO, when they register, can indicate they will not allow foreign applicants? Or, is there any way to contact them to further discuss? For those of us who are well-seasoned travelers, I have always found it customary to “pad” travel both for ourselves but, in these instances, the HO should anything arise. I also looked at many in areas I lived or studied abroad and am very familiar with, including the travel. Any advice or suggestions are greatly appreciated. Look forward to working with house and fur-baby owners.

Hi @CDskisCO . I’m not sure what you mean by ‘disappeared’. Were these live sits, ie, ones with dates? It could just be that the home-owner found a sitter or decided not to proceed. Sits in popular areas can be very quickly snapped up by eager sitters. One thing to be aware of is that there is a five applicant limit at which point further applications are ‘paused’ for the home-owner to review; if they accept one, then obviously the sit is closed; if they declined one or more then more applications are allowed until the five limit is reached. If you are in a different time zone, a sit could be posted and filled whilst you were asleep!

There is no filter for a home-owner to do this. They may indicate a preference in their listing. You could always explain that you’ll be in XYZ country (eg, one sitter from Alaska applied to me in the UK, and mentioned they would be coming from Italy on their travels, not all the way from Alaska).