Security Systems- hidden or revealed

I’m fairly new to THS so forgive me if this topic has already been discussed. I’m curious how fellow sitters feel about being watched on a security system. I’ve recently accepted a Sit with full disclosure about their cameras. While I’m not excited to be watched, I appreciate their honesty about them and where they are located. I would be against it if they were located in the bedroom or bath of course. I’m told that cameras were becoming (or have been?) the norm and most people don’t disclose their existence :face_with_raised_eyebrow:. I don’t have anything to hide but there is something that makes me feel like the TRUSTED part of THS is being compromised. I’d love to hear your thoughts on this subject.

3 Likes

Disclosed outside cameras are fine but I would never accept a sit with internal cameras - it is a step too far against my personal privacy. The title of the site states quite clearly that there has to be an element of trust when using trustedhousesitters as a homeowner - if the homeowner can’t trust a sitter to stay in their home then I would recommend they take their pet to an outside agency to be cared for.

16 Likes

Hi @1gypsygurl,

Like you, I’m relatively new to THS. I also had questions about THS’s regulations regarding security systems after reading a thread where a HO mentioned observing a sitter’s movements on a declared security system. The sitter had been acting strange so the HO was worried about her dogs, which is understandable. However, the thought of a HO checking on a sitter made me very uneasy, so I searched the forum for additional threads on the topic.