Hello from the Dandenong Ranges in Victoria, Australia

I joined a week ago and already have four sits pending and two confirmed so I’m really excited. I can’t wait to start making new pet friends :slight_smile:

8 Likes

Hi @adamcchristie - Welcome to trusted housesitters and, Wow! that is impressive, well done on securing your first two sits already. When you say 4 sits pending do you mean that you have four more applications sent?

Keep us updated on how you go on with this new adventure, are your sits local or will you have to travel far?

2 Likes

Hi @Colin, thanks for responding. I’ve applied for 17xhousesits. Eight have rejected. There are three yet to respond. Two are confirmed and locked in. Four are keen but we are yet to meet/Zoom.
Considering I am new to THS and have no reviews I feel so blessed that these people are entrusting me with their fur babies. My work is inside my laptop so I can go anywhere. I am only applying for jobs close to home or a state or two away between now and next June to allow my family time to get used to my travelling. I can’t wait to take this overseas and can easily understand why people do this full time :))
What about you?

7 Likes

@adamcchristie, You really do seem to be following the ideal way to secure yourself some sits as a newbie.

-Apply to many
-Don’t be disheartened by some rejections
-Be motivated by the confirmed sits.
-Start local and gradually travel farther as your reviews come in, and your experience and confidence grow.

We were very similar to you, we are UK based and did our first sit in May 2021, We loved the experience and immediately started to apply for more.

Fast forward to now, 16 months later. We still consider ourselves to be newish and love to meet up or chat with more experienced sitters than us for inspiration, advice and tips ( This group is brim full of all three!)