HO Questions About Why You Want To Sit

Hello, I’m new to THS and have started booking sits. I just had an interaction with a HO, who asked a bunch of different questions via chat, which I was happy to answer (I even offered for them to call me). Then they asked why I would want to sit their house if I live in the same area. (Their questions felt increasingly more suspicious.) Is this really so unusual? In fact, THS recommends getting local sits under your belt if you’re new to the platform, right?

Anyhow, I replied that it looked like a wonderful opportunity to enjoy another aspect of the town I am new to, while enjoying some pet companionship. I haven’t heard back. It may be they are new to the platform as I don’t see that they have any reviews. Any feedback or advice welcome. I’m wondering if this is a red flag. Thanks!

1 Like

I don’t see any harm at all in going for local sits. In fact, that’s exactly what I did when I was new to THS as it is a really good way to go to build up those initial reviews.

For what it’s worth, if you are feeling uncomfortable with the question and something is feeling off, definitely do pay attention to that feeling. Whenever I’ve ignored those initial instincts, I’ve tended to pay quite a price for it. Almost 5 years on THS has given me the best training ground for learning to trust my instincts!

It might be worth holding out for a host you feel more comfortable with and more of a connection to but of course only you know best. I very much wish you every success on your pet sitting journey!

Why did you not answer like it is, that you are trying to get reviews, that this is what THS recommends new sitters to do?

Hi @ThePetCharmer - Since you mentioned you’re new, the HO is probably just trying to ensure they can trust you. If they’re also new, I wouldn’t hold it against them.