How early to accept an application?

Hi Everyone! I am brand new to this, just found the site about three weeks ago. I have three trips posted in my profile but I have a solid backup for two of them. The third is in July for about 10 days and I just got my first application (ever) today. They seem like a nice couple and I would certainly be interested in speaking with them. I have read on this forum about how sitters often have their sits booked up well in advance, but I’ve also seen a few stories about sitters canceling and being stuck. I don’t want to let the application sit but I also don’t know if I should jump on the first one I get. Can you offer any advice to a newb?

Thank you in advance,
Renee

2 Likes

Renee,
I will be watching this thread. I also just started using this site a few months ago, completed one listing, and have one unfilled. I wasn’t sure how to manage the applications so I decided to start by just accepting the first sitter that I felt comfortable with and that fit my requirements rather than collecting several and then choosing from them. I really am not sure if this is the best way to manage things although for my first listing I was spoiled by the high caliber of my sitters!!
I wonder how other manage the process of choosing also.

Hello @renee_9605 and welcome to the forum and the TrustedHousesitters community. I’m going to add @ellenaj into my response, given she’s in a similar situation.

I will need to generalize, as there are a few posts that address your questions. These posts overwhelmingly reinforce to listen to your gut, don’t ignore red flags, act as promptly (but carefully) as you can, and be respectful of other people’s time. It’s a balancing act, with no right answer to your question.