Impossible to cover Christmas?

Hello all, I’m new to this service so a bit nervous about finding someone over the holiday!
I’ve read a few posts about the travel dates not being ideal if they fall on really busy dates (like Dec 31/Jan 1, which is when I’m back of course). How can I let sitters know upfront that I’m ok with them staying for a day or 2 extra if it suits them?
I’ve tried to make my posting as complete as possible with lots of pictures and info about where I live (which is a lovely location if I do say so myself!) but I’ve had no interest at all :cry: What are sitters looking for? What can I do to entice someone here?!?

1 Like

Hi. Can you link your listing to your profile, so we can see if there are any obvious points that could use improvement?
The things that draw me to a listing (and there will no doubt be sitters that don’t see it this way):

• Post a pic of the pets early on, if not the first photo. If I fall in love with your pet, I’ll likely try to find a way to make that work out. A house photo as first pic may not have the same effect.

• Show clear interior shots, which include where the sitter will be sleeping. I am very flexible on a lot of things, but need a comfortable and large bed. My chiropractor would be making a ton of money if I tried sleeping on a pull-out couch. :slight_smile:

• Indicate how far your home is from a supermarket/train station/bus station etc. or if there is reliable taxi or uber/lyft service.

• Indicate if there is smoking in the home. I’m a nonsmoker and couldn’t consider a smoking household, no matter how much I wanted to sit for a pet.

I know a lot of sitters have already confirmed their plans for the holidays, but I’m sure there are plenty of others that would be able to accept on shorter notice. It’s not too late.

3 Likes

Hi Harris2 - thanks for the advice! My listing is now linked in my profile.