International Sits and Planning Maps

Hello Fellow Sitters, I have had a great autumn and going into spring with my first sitting season. These have all been stateside in one state.
I understand the THS process and I am ready to adventure in Europe. My inexperience with the geography of areas has been my concern.
I have found there are Planning Maps from travel writers that cover several Cities and Countryside that I want to explore. Have any of you used these before and did you like them as a reliable resource??
Ordered one of the United Kingdom and Ireland maps.

1 Like

I am a tech-freak so I use google maps on all of my devices. If I’m going to be without wifi/data, I download the portion of the map (ie all of southern England) to my device so I have access offline.

I’m going to assume this is not a possibility for you?

3 Likes

Hello, This tip should be shared with the greater Sitter group!! Good one.
Appreciate the tip on using google maps. I would totally do this once in the country for routes and travel modes.
I want a big map on the wall or desk to area plan the overall three months of sits. I am an analysis geek who gets stuff done. (dreaming about 3 months’ worth)

LuvPets

3 Likes

We also use GoogleMaps, but what might be even more important than geographical distance is how well connected places are to each other. E.g. I have a direct flight from here to Barcelona (1000+ km) for 50 EUR, while we had to travel 10+ hours with BlaBlaCar to visit my partner’s family in Poland (also 1000+ km). In France e.g. even smaller places often have a direct and very fast connection to Paris, so we often went through the capital to get to another small place (on the map it would have looked like complete non-sense).

2 Likes