Phoenix, AZ - newbie on bucket list journey

Hi folks - My goal is to take my 8 week sabbatical in 2024 and leverage THS to help me see the world and lighten the cost. I am new to the housesitting gig, but have had and loved pets of all sorts all my life. My strategy is to start local, expand and build reviews over the next several months to increase my chances of landing some great international sits. I applied for about 6-7 sits over the last few days and got my first sit starting in a little over a week! I have 2 questions:

1. My profile is pretty simple…any advice? (I linked my profile to my forum profile)
  2. What is the etiquette and your experience for exploring while sitting? e.g., what is the norm for getting out and seeing the city or going for a day hike, but still giving proper attention and care for the HO pets and home?
    Thanks,
    Tom
4 Likes

Hi @DesertTom,

Thanks for joining the forum it’s great to have you here. I think the way that you’ve strategized going about starting your petsitting journey is really smart and sounds to me like you’ve done your homework. Also, congratulations on getting your very first sit booked already! That’s fantastic and getting that all important first review will help you get well on your way.

I’ve taken a look at your profile and it looks good…just a few things I think will help it look great!

Do you have any more photos you can share of yourself with pets/animals?

I think it would be good to clarify right away if you plan on having your dogs come along to sit with you. There are sitters that bring their dogs with them…but it does certainly limit their options. Making that clarification from the start would be good.

Your certainly have quite the range of pet experience and that will certainly pay off!