Posts about cameras making me a little nervous

Hi everyone

I am new to formal house-sitting, with some sits now lined up in the UK later this year which is great :slight_smile: I will be travelling with my 14 year old daughter and until I was reading through some posts on the forum, pet / security cameras being used to monitor sitters coming and going, or being active inside had not occurred to me!

It feels like a real invasion of privacy and makes me extremely uncomfortable. My daughter equally does not wish to stay anywhere with inside cameras. I know they are not allowed by THS but it sounds like many home owners still insist on them and/or use them without telling sitters?
Can anyone reassure us that itā€™s unusual/rare?
Also any tips on how to double check with owners without offending would be greatly appreciated.
I donā€™t want to appear paranoid but it just leaves a bit of an ā€˜ickā€™ feelingā€¦
Thank you so much :slight_smile: Such a kind forumā€¦

3 Likes

In 40 sits we have never come across cameras inside or outside of a property. Best thing is to ask politely during the video call if they have cameras at their house and if they do, then pin it down to why and where and that they are only outside (maybe trespassers or security). Whilst we donā€™t sit in the UK, Iā€™m a Brit who lived there until 3 years ago and other than in cities or really big rural properties itā€™s unusual. Never known anyone with an internal camera in Blighty. Clear & open comms is everything @RubyTuesday for a good sitting relationship. #trustyourgut

2 Likes

The use of internal cameras is forbidden.
External cameras are not necessarily to monitor sitters, they are just general security cameras which are also in use whilst sitters are not present so do not get hung up about them.
We have sat at 4 different locations and none have had external camera but one did have an internal, in the kitchen to monitor the dog, which was turned off before the HO left.