Sharing constructive about cat behavior

Hello - I am relatively new to THS. One of the reasons why I joined was to expose myself to animals since I do not have a pet. I have spoken to people who have pet sat only by feeding animals. The requirement to stay at one’s home seems to be a trend.

In my feedback to a HO regarding a pet and house sit for a cat, I had some very unpleasant experiences with the behavior of the cat. The HO also expected me to behave the way she did, so the cat expected to have no boundaries. The cat would jump on me while I was at my computer, while I was eating at a table, or would jump on counters where I was preparing food. It was extremely uncomfortable and unsanitary I thought.
Normally cats are more aloof, but this cat demanded intense, frequent rubbing, petting and proximity apparently 24 hours per day at will. I did not give constructive feedback to the homeowner because this seems very complicated.
What are your recommendations? As a human being, I felt my boundaries were being crossed.

My recommendation: discuss the pet behaviour before conforming a sit. Ask lots of questions about things that are important to you, like does the cat jump on counters, how much attention the pet needs etc.

The pets are not going to change their behaviour for the sitter, so you need to do the screening beforehand to find a sit that suits you.

6 Likes

None of what you describe is unusual behaviour for a cat. Some cats are aloof, but not all.

6 Likes

It doesn’t sound like you know much about cats and went into the sit with a preconceived notion of them, which is a bummer for you and the cat. Many cats behave as you described and you can easily see that in social media about cats, for instance. Many humans actually enjoy cats like that, which is why they’re popular on social media.