Small tip for new-ish sitters to secure some confirmed sits

Hi all, I’m fairly new to TH. I’ve applied for some sits and have been getting pretty good responses. I applied for a sit on one of the beautiful Gulf Islands off the West coast of Vancouver. My profile indicated the neighbourhood I live in and unbeknownst to me, the HO’s main residence was 10 minutes away. They got in touch in less than an hour and asked if I could pop over quickly for a meet-up with them and their cat, because they were dashing to the airport. I said no b/c I was busy that afternoon. They said OK, they’d be in touch when they returned.

When I hung up I thought to myself…“you need to take this opportunity and not wait”. I quickly rearranged something and emailed back and said I could come by in 15 minutes for half an hour. Am I ever glad I did. I didn’t know it at the time, but they had many applicants and were in conversations with 5-6. They’d booked a video but hadn’t had any yet.

At our meet-up, I was offered the 3-week sit on the island in their spectacular waterfront property, on its own beach with use of their Jeep to explore the island and they are flying me in and out by seaplane. Pinch me. Best of all? I get the absolute joy of caring for the most incredible Main Coon I’ve ever seen. Giant golden orbes for eyes on a broad regal face (a.k.a. handsome, and he knows it : )

This leads to the advice part: for those who are new-ish and purr-haps (!) applying within their own town or city, in your application tell them why you are right for the sit as you normally would, etc., etc., but then why not suggest you meet at a local coffee shop (safe public space) that is handy to the HO? “Cafe XYZ is in your area, I’d love to meet-up today/this week or a brief chat.”