Car needed?

I know, in the scheme of things, this is a very trivial thing to even mention - but why do HO’s say that a car is required when they’re located in a city? Or, at least, on a good bus route?
I used to skip the “car needed” ads, as we don’t have one but once I started checking locations I realized that a car really wasn’t needed. So, why do HO’s put it in their ads?

3 Likes

It wouldn’t attract me to the sit. It’d be an added headache even though I’m an ex UK Driving Instructor and I’ve passed the IAM Advanced Driving test. Just imagine if you had a bump in the HOs car. What a fafff.

I agree, though I’m not referring to sits where the HO offers their car. I mean the ones where a car is not needed yet the HO still puts “car needed” in their ad.

I think @anon36831737 may have nailed it…

1 Like

Buses in Glasgow reflect all types of culture………the best ones are the late night and all night.

PS I’m allowed to say that, I was married to a Weggie for 20+ years.

1 Like

I remember the look of horror of some of our US friends when we declined their offer of a lift to the supermarket. “We will walk, thank you”. Gasp, horror……

And try to tell them you hitchhiked in the Caribbean because you missed the hourly bus, “and your still alive?” The look said.

Yes, car culture is a thing.

6 Likes

Oh, it’s most definitely a thing! We’ve been in Canada since the pandemic started and NO ONE can understand how we’ve managed without a car. We’re in a city of 1,000,000; we’re managing fine, thanks…

I guess I always assumed that the homeowner saw the options as being “Sitters Need a Car” and “Car Included” and if they didn’t want to have the Car Available they choose the other. I understand that you don’t have to choose one of the options, but often when given choices people tend to choose something rather than nothing. I usually pay more attention to what is written under “Home and Location” where many people mention the public transportation options.

4 Likes