Communicating before house sit starts

Hi Everyone,
Newbie here! I searched the forum but couldn’t find any posts that addressed communicating with HOs before the sits starts. I have 5 sits scheduled between Mar - July. I plan to arrive to each sit beforehand to meet the owners. How often do you check-in with the owners before the sits? And is this done via THS, email, or phone? I just want to make sure I’m communicating enough prior to arriving on my sit. Thanks!

2 Likes

Hi @Butterfly
That depends on you and how your initial conversations have gone. Congratulations on your 5 sits!
Sometimes very little interaction happens until much closer to the sit time. Occasionally I will have an HO send a note about weather, or anything they want to add as a nicety or a question about preferences and such.
I’ve had HOs ask about what size boot I wear if snow is expected.
Do what feels comfortable, even if it’s to say “just checking in, how are your travel plans going?”
It’s a nice touch.

5 Likes

Thanks @Amparo

2 Likes

Hi @Butterfly
Are your sits local or international?
I have only had local sits and we decide on a preferred way to communicate once the sit is confirmed, usually call or text and then generally I use WhatsApp if they are abroad during the sit and have the app. I check in with them 3-5 days prior to make sure all is going ahead as planned. With last min gov rules still changing in each country there can be some late cancellations if the HO are flying internationally.
Congrats on your 5 sits :grinning:

1 Like

Hi @Butterfly and I echo @Amparo’s congratulations on your sits, and her good advice.