Confirmed sitter goes quiet, then asks me to "reassign" the sit

Hello folks, I am new to this platform. I’ve had good luck finding great-sounding sitters for several trips later in the year, except in the case of my first trip. This one is coming up in a few weeks and quickly found and confirmed a sitter last December. We chatted and confirmed. Then I heard nothing nothing nothing, and finally got a terse and unhelpful response to my query about her travel plans (“I’m watching ticket prices.”) Weeks later after hearing nothing, I pushed her again the other day and got a reply that she has been busy with family and my message was apparently the cosmos letting her know that I need to “reassign” the sit. She was the only applicant so of course there was no one to “reassign” it to, as though I had a pile of sitters waiting. I don’t know if these cancellations go on your record, but if I wanted my listing to go live again, I had to unconfirm the sit, which looked like I was the flakey one, not her. Who knows when she would bother telling me if I hadn’t pestered her. I find I’m pretty annoyed at her yanking my chain all this time. Is there no consequence for this behavior, such as a way to review her and lodge my complaint that she flaked out after ghosting me for many weeks. Arrgh. Her whole attitude was unapologetic. I hope this isn’t normal. I know I’m just venting here but should I contact the platform and let them know my issue with how this played out? I can’t help wondering if I’m the first time she has done this without consequence. I wish I’d had a warning.

2 Likes

Welcome @canneturn yes you can report this sitter to member services e-Mail : support@trustedhousesitters.com and they can advise you.

2 Likes