Curious responsibilities?

Reading through the responsibilities sections I see a full range of short and sweet lists which outline the main tasks, or extremely detailed essays (and probably better suited to the Welcome Guide). I’m a Newbie (horses, dogs, cats, small animals) with 5 sits arranged locally in South East England for this summer and hoping to find a sit in Perth Australia for January 2025.

However I’m collecting the more ‘interesting’ ones as I go along….here’s the best one I’ve seen so far.

“4 ice cubes to the Orchid plant every 3 days….”
A sit in Boston :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

12 Likes

Thats a lot less intrusive than most :grinning:

3 Likes

That’s how some orchids are watered normally.

4 Likes

Ah well I’m not questioning the validity of any of the more curious responsibilities just simply collecting the more interesting ones… that made me personally smile or raise an eyebrow.

3 Likes

:potted_plant: I really wish all owners with houseplants provided this kind of information and especially for orchids … I have stressed more about keeping the orchids alive and healthy than the pets ( which I am more familiar with looking after )

I have also seen some requests which made me smile - good topic @BonnyinBrighton

I saw one where a bearded dragon had to be walked around the neighbourhood on a leash and fed strawberries . Another one for a tortoise that had to be bathed every evening. These maybe perfectly normal requests but since I haven’t cared for any of these pets before they seemed amusing to me .

Having said that I would like to do a sit with a tortoise.

12 Likes

I saw a pet sit that included the painting of garden furniture.

13 Likes

What I’ve done in some instances when they’ve not left details: Look up the the plant via Google image search and then search for how to care for it. Kinda a pain, but I want to keep the plants alive and I’m actually curious.