Hi Fellow Travelers

Hi Happy TH Travelers and Home Owners
Hard to imagine that Hubby and I have been housesitting now, non-stop, since August 2017. It’s been an extraordinary experience.

I hope everyone on here has had the same wonderful experiences. Not only have we learned to live with so much less (own only what we can fit into our three suitcases), but I’ve also become a professional author.

All I can say is, ‘Who knew?’

4 Likes

Hi Monika, welcome! That’s great that you’ve been sitting full-time since mid 2017! Care to tell us how you navigated through the time when the pandemic started to rear its ugly head? Were you stranded somewhere that you could stay longer?

2 Likes

Navigating COVID as a Housesitter March 2019 to Now

I remember the eerie silence. I, in this context, is interchangeable and means ‘we.’ Hubby and me.

We had just finished a four-month housesit in Victoria, BC, and landed on our home base in Calgary for a short sit.

The news about COVID, still being called the corona, was inescapable. There was talk of vaccines and travel passports; people were stranded on cruise ships and literally dying to get off.

Our hosts were going to the Dominican Republic. They left for their winter escape, and we settled into our routine with Trixie–the super dog.

It was cold. Before doing the housesit in Victoria, we’d been on a housesit to Boquete, Panama (we used to live there), and a six-month stint in Europe and the UK. Housesitting is fantastic.

Protective surgical masks were on the horizon. Masks were something people wore in Asia to combat smog. Handwashing was already on our schedule. I read about Semmelweiss years ago.

After the Northwest Calgary housesit, we were scheduled for a 3-week sit in Canmore, Alberta. A breathtaking village with a foothold on the Rockies and a gateway to Canada’s crown jewel, Banff National Park. Canmore canceled on us a few days later.