How to initiate conversation with potential sitters

I don’t see any way to send a message to potential sitters. I don’t want to click the “Invite” button because I just want to send out some feelers to people who look promising. How does this all work? Total newbie here.

You have a listing with dates out, well done! That is how it works.

No applicants yet, but there is plenty of time.

1 Like

Hi @krhazler and welcome. I am a sitter only, not a homeowner on THS. I believe the only way to initiate a conversation is to hit the ‘invite’ button but do include a message as well. That in no way guarantees the gig for that sitter but invites them to apply. However, personal invites aren’t often successful. Good luck with your listing

1 Like

Thanks Maggie. Is there a reason that personal invites are rarely successful?

1 Like

Most sitters are looking to travel, most homeowners will look at local sitters when deciding who to invite so that doesn’t really match up.
There may well be sitters who want to go to your area but that would be hard to filter.
Those are the first reasons that come to mind

2 Likes

Examples, of which there are many:

• Don’t like something(s) about the situation, location, timing, cost of travel.
  • Have better things to do.
  • Don’t want to go there because of the season / weather.
  • They’re currently or will be too far away to make the sit reasonable or convenient.
  • Have some other kind of conflict.
  • Just don’t feel like it.

Imagine if anyone invited you out of the blue to something that’s voluntary. Imagine all the elements you might consider in deciding whether to go. THS sitters have lives, jobs, obligations, families and friends, costs, health, many options to decide among on how to spend their time, preferences, priorities, etc., to consider, like any humans do.

And just like you decided whether sitters are promising, sitters decide whether hosts are as well.

3 Likes