Is it acceptable to ask new sitters to get an ID check?

Hi I’m new to TSH. I’ve only used one house sitting couple before, they came with glowing reviews dbs checks etc. Normally we help each other out within the family re pet sitting but I feel it is too much for my mother.

I’ve approached over 30 sitters (all with good reviews and references), for a 16 days sit at start of December, only for them all (bar one) to be fully booked.

I have been approached by one family who have only just signed up. Is it acceptable to ask for them to do the ID check. I believe it’s free. The 3 external references are very new and they live overseas.

I’m not sure if they just want free UK accommodation, they do say it’s an alternative to air Bnb. We want the best care for our 3 dogs, one who is elderly and on medication.

I’m sometimes too trusting of people and human behaviour hence the question.

Although I’m now getting a bit worried about finding a suitable sitter in 6 weeks. The only other alternative who have approached us have been incredibly pushy and not that tolerant of the fact we let our dogs on sofas and the bed.

It is quite a cushy sit , big house, sea view and big garden.

Any feedback or advice greatly appreciated.

3 Likes

Before you approach a sitter, you can look on their profile and see if they’re available.

You should get a sitter that you’re completely comfortable with, so that you can have a stress-free vacation.

Good luck!

Hi Rebecca

Thanks for your response. I’ve found that most of the people I have approached, (I have been searching for a pet sitter with dates and looking at their availability), have not kept them up to date.

Is there any other way to search that is more reliable ? Either that or they just would prefer not to sit, but that isn’t the feedback I have had from those who reply.

Many thanks.

Hi there,

I guess I just assumed everybody would keep their calendar up to date. I do.