New to this - Any advice please

Good morning all, I am a new THS member with two gorgeous and very old GSD doggies. I have never done this before and would like some advice please?
When a house sitter comes to stay, do I have to provide food (IE a week’s worth of food) if I am away for that time?
I am a little cautious about this, leaving my house with all my contents in their entirety and my dogs. I have read a lot of the trust pilot reviews, and all seem very positive. Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks Rachelle

No. You’ll find most HSitters will either bring their own or go out and buy their own food.
Personally, all I want is a fresh pint of milk in the fridge so I can have a coffee on day one.
The HO I’ve sat for in Florida took me to the supermarket the evening my flight arrived and helped me to stock up for a few days until I could settle in and work out shops, local transport, a car.

Hi @Rachelle1234 - Welcome to the Trusted housesitting community. This is a fair exchange service.
The exchange, basically, is that we ( The sitters ) will care for your home and pets whilst you are away and you ( the Home host ) will allow the sitter to stay in your property rent and utility payment free.
No cash is exchanged and all the sitters travel costs and food costs are paid for by the sitter.
All that sitters ask is clean accommodation , some space to unpack( particularly for longer sits) and some space in the fridge & freezer.
It is perfectly normal to be a little cautious at first but you will soon find that this is a great concept where all concerned are winners. The home host gets to go away knowing that their pets & home are in good care and the sitters get to visit new areas and spend time with lots of different four legged friends!

4 Likes

thank you very much, that’s great advice

1 Like

Hello @Rachelle1234 and a warm welcome to TrustedHousesitters and the forum - we are glad you have found the community and are already making good use of it.