Newbie contacted by HO for unadvertised sit

A HO emailed me making me an offer of a sit I hadn’t applied for at very short notice - one week from now. That’s fine, I don’t mind short notice but the HO hasn’t actually attached any dates to the listing - he’s just told me what they are in the message. He is also being rather reticent - I’m the one asking all the questions. I don’t have a car and would have to get there by train with the ticket costing £100. The owner said they’d refund me, but I’m wary. This would be my first ever sit - I only just joined a few days ago. If they cancel, there’ no penalty - right? They have plenty of good reviews, but this is only for sits that went ahead. I am a newbie - help!

I have no objection either to being contacted directly to ask if I’d be interested in a sit, but it has always been for advertised dates. My query would be - why haven’t they advertised the sit? I’d want them to advertise it and then I could apply.

1 Like

I am just going to give a short response - don’t do it!
So many red flags here and as you are a newbie, you want to take on a sitting that follows the guidelines preferably with an experienced HO

12 Likes

Hi @catlover and welcome. My gut reaction is the same as @Itchyfeet. I am a sitter with years of experience. If I was invited directly, I would not consider it without a listing prepared. I would merely reply saying that I would be happy to review the listing and would give them a quick response, given their timeframe.

I would wonder why someone would select me, without any THS experience, over other sitters closer to their location. If it would cost you £100 to get there, why you? That’s no disrespect to you, but the biggest red flag ever.

Also please look at the webpage concerning who pays for travel to a sit. You will see that travel costs are at the sitter’s expense.

Francine,
Voluntary Forum Moderator

7 Likes