Only applicant has no reviews

Hi,
We have a couple of sits advertised for July and October - only live since Saturday. We have only had one applicant so far and they are new to TH. They have 4 references but they are located in USA and we are in UK. I’m wondering if anyone has experience of taking a chance on a new sitter from so far away? They sound very nice and competent in their emails and we have discussed having a zoom call but I am just concerned about the distance. I am considering inviting some local sitters but not sure what to say in the message to them? I am also new to TH, only used twice before and with the same sitter each time.
Thank you for any advice

Write down all your concerns and then form a list of questions that you want to ask the potential sitter . Then a video call is a great way to ask them .
It’s not an interview but it’s a great way to find out more about your potential sitter regardless of whether they are local or coming from afar .

For example I would be asking when do you arrive in U.K. , how long are you staying , do you have other sits in U.K. lined up - why do you want to come to U.K., what do you plan to do here , are you working ?

Then when you have this information think about whether they seem like a good fit for you .

1 Like

Hi @SashyP,