Pet parent etiquette

Hi, I’m new to this. I posted my first dates and have had numerous sitters apply. We have found the sitters we think we will use, but how to I respond to all the others that saved my listing?
I feel it’s rude not to acknowledge

1 Like

Thanks so much for your application. We appreciate your time and experience but at this point we’ve decided on a different sitter. We wish you the best and please do feel free to apply again in the future.

8 Likes

Great answer from CreatureCuddler. Many like a personal message, so nice of you to think about that.

2 Likes

But don’t decline the other applicants @CornishPupsMum before you’re sure the sitter will accept your sit.

It’s common to have a video chat or a phone call before confirming a sit, and after that either the sitter or you might feel it’s not a great match after all.

So, keep your options open until everyone is sure they want this sit to happen.

3 Likes

Thank you.

1 Like

Just be aware of many sitters (incl me) will withdraw their application if the host doesn’t communicate within 48 hours of application. Terms of THS says within 72 hours, but many sitters have a tighter timeframe, as it is considered a signal of the hosts communication-style.

Oh of course I communicate with each applicant as soon as I read their application @Garfield . I thank them for applying and depending on the situation either decline them straight away/ tell them an approximate timeline of when I’ll get back to them/ ask some more questions/ arrange a video chat as soon as possible.

But when it comes to declining other equally good applicants before the one the HO is planning to choose has confirmed, I don’t think that’s a good idea. A sitter is not confirmed until they’ve confirmed.

4 Likes

Make sure you are happy with and have confirmed your sitter before sending any messages.

You wouldn’t want to be in a position where you decline the other applicants and then your preferred sitter withdraws.