Searching for sitters

Hi there! I’m brand new to THS as both a sitter and an owner who lives in a great spot in San Francisco. I’m excited and nervous to use this for the first time for a very long trip this Dec/Jan. I have a senior cat who recently had some health problems and can be difficult to give meds to. More often than not, it’s simple and he just gobbles them up, but depending on how he’s feeling it can be a bit more of a struggle. One of the things, I wanted to ask about is how people find sitters other than those who have applied for the sit? I’ve had some wonderful applicants thus far who I’ll be video chatting this week, but because I’m looking for some specific traits (experience with senior cats in particular) and because I’m located in a very popular area, I was also hoping to try to reach out to people. I’ve tried the Find a Sitter feature, but it only seems to show people local to me (which doesn’t make a lot of sense for a long term sit), and I don’t see how to search keywords to find out people’s interests and skills. Am I doing this wrong or is that how the function works?

i don’t think that there is a way to search for key words. I wish that there was because I was in the same position as you last year - needing a sitter who could medicate my senior cat, including sub-Q fluids. She died last December, so it is much easier for me to find a sitter now.

As a sitter, I would love to be searchable when someone like you has specific needs. I can list all my cat medication experience in the profile (not just my senior cat, but almost 50 fosters with many medical conditions!). However, unless someone finds my profile, they wouldn’t see that experience.

I think that many experienced sitters do have experience medicating cats, and some are even vets or vet techs, but they can be hard to sort through.

3 Likes