Sitter cancellations seem to be more frequent

Is it just me or has anyone else experienced a greater number of cancellations on the part of the sitters? I have very rarely cancelled on a sitter. But it seems like every sit I have posted for the last few months, the first person I book has to cancel for one reason or another, usually last minute, and I’m scrambling to find a replacement. It is making me think this website is not the great resource it used to be. (I’ve been using it for 4 years.) I would love to hear from other HOs regarding your recent experiences.
Thanks,
Colleen

8 Likes

Sorry to hear of your experience @colleeninNYC have you told member services about each of the cancellations ?

THS do not know about Sitter cancellations unless PP informs them .

Sitter cancellations has also been discussed in this recent thread where others have noticed a similar trend.

11 Likes

As a sitter, I’m finding that HOs are slow to reply… so are you saying confirmed sits are canceling, or that a sitter is applying and then withdrawing?

Speaking just for myself, I’ve applied for sits, and the HO doesn’t reply! If they don’t reply within 24 hours, I send them a little note to “poke” them. If that poke doesn’t get a response within 24 more hours, I withdraw the application.

48 hours is plenty of time for someone to SIMPLY acknowledge that they received the application message and express interest or disinterest.

19 Likes

Confirmed sits are canceling. Like - confirmed, welcome guide sent, a few days to a week before the start date canceling. It’s incredibly frustrating.

5 Likes

@colleeninNYC please make sure you advise Member Services of this happening as they keep track of sitters who cancel without a valid reason.

3 Likes

UGH, yeah, that’s a drag. Sorry that you’re having those issues. I wish I could give advice or help. :frowning: just report those people to Support@TrustedHouseSitters.com and get things straightened out.

4 Likes

Thanks. Appreciate the tip.