Unsure about a housesit

I have a sit next month that I feel has a few red flags and I’m not sure what to do. The first one is that the last 4 sitters have not left a review (I’m very new to this so didn’t think about it when I applied). Also after reading on the forum for things to look out for, there are no interior photos of the house, just a few of the pet and one exterior photo. The last thing is that a month ago, I messaged the HO to ask for a call (which she’d mentioned at the beginning) and she’s not replied (but read the message). Any tips would be really appreciated, I’m really unsure what to do. Thanks.

Try requesting a welcome guide, and message again asking for a chat as it’s all very new to you.
How long is the sit for? What feel did you get from the HO initially? Not that any of that matters really, if she communicates back, you have committed to the sit and would need a very good reason to pull out.
I know some people have had experience of dirty houses, but I can truthfully say in 40+ sits we have never had this problem. In many ways a more ‘lived in’ house makes for a more relaxed sit, too pristine and sometimes you daren’t breathe!
If I was a homeowner I feel I may limit the number of house photos, not because when I had a house it was dirty or untidy, but because I want people to come to care for my pet, not to plan for their perfect holiday.
I’m sure it will be fine and you’ll have a great time, everyone’s reasons for house-sitting are different as are their expectations
Jackie

3 Likes

Hi Lily and welcome to the forum. It’s always a little unnerving when you don’t get a response to a message after agreeing to a sit, but generally we’ve found that it’s just a delay because the owners are away, or working or they miss the email notification (or have them turned off) so don’t see your message.