Any other families out there housesitting full time?

Hi there, my family and I have been traveling for about 3 years now. Although we haven’t been exclusively housesitting, it’s the majority of our last year. We also stay with friends and family at times, have done some Workaway stops and other volunteering etc. our kids are 6 and 9 currently. We homeschool them as we go. I could share Loads more about our experience, but I wanted to start the conversation to hear if there are other families out there :slight_smile: We are Americans and currently in the UK. Soon to be headed into Europe and towards the Balkans where we hope to settle and put down roots (but of course doing some Housesit’s from time to time). What an amazing thing TrustedHousesitters has been for us and enabled us to explore!
Hope to hear from ya,
Caleb and fam.

14 Likes

Hi @theshowalters ! There are families on the forum that sit. @IHeartAnimals is a family that sits full time and @Debbie has been sitting for a long time with her sons and is sometimes joined by her husband when the boys are on school holidays. They’ll probably jump in and say hi. I commend you for giving your kids important life experiences.

4 Likes

My family (which consists of me and my daughter) traveled full-time for two years when she was aged 13-15 back in 2017-2019. We didn’t housesit though, we stayed primarily in Airbnbs. I didn’t discover housesitting until later. She did online school during those two years. It was a wonderful experience for both of us. Now, I’m housesitting full-time on my own and she joins me on her school breaks (she attends a university now). We just spent the summer sitting together in Europe - more great experiences and memories!

9 Likes

Hi again @theshowalters ,
You might want to check out this topic:
https://forum.trustedhousesitters.com/t/pet-sitting-with-the-family/

and this:

3 Likes