Couple Sitters

Hi all,

I am new to trusted sitters and completed my first sit successfully a few weeks ago. We have another sit coming up and I am noticing a lot of couples applying, I don’t have issue with couples but I do have concerns. Are both background checked? I would be interested in hearing from HO who have had couples sit.

1 Like

I prefer couples over singles, because, if something happened to, let’s say one of the couple’s family and they would have to leave quickly, there’s still the other one to stay until someone else could take over.

2 Likes

Only the main sitter on the profile is background checked and only if that sitter is from the US. I’m pretty sure no one from any other country is required to be background checked. Their identification is verified and that’s it.

We’re a couple, in our 50’s and 60’s, been together for 13 years, lived together since 2016, trustworthy, reliable, bla bla bla, that’s the life story.

THS’s system only allows one space for one of us to be background checked, I don’t know why, it’s been raised plenty of times before on here. But our insurance covers us to sit via THS as a COUPLE, as they have both of our names on their system, so you have an element of insurance protection.

To give a little extra assurance to an HO, we give both of our LinkedIn profile details, and say we’re happy to video chat in our profile, so HO’s can see we’re both as ‘fantastic’ as our reviews say.

If you are single and you have pets, your pets may be happier with a single sitter (only you know that). If you live alone you can probably think of plenty of other advantages. If you’re female/male your pets may prefer the same.

However, the HUUUUUUGE benefit of a couple is twice as many snuggles, cuddles, hugs.
Pets get twice as much attention, simply because there’s two people.
Practically two people can potentially handle larger dogs or larger quantities of animals easier.