Do You Get Attached to A pet

When petsitting, do any other sitters get attached to the pets? I lost my beloved bestie (Labrador mix dog) a few months ago, and now when I petsit, I get emotional/teary-eyed when the sit is over and really miss the pets. Does anyone else go through this?

13 Likes

Hi @anon49809275 welcome to our community forum and what a wonderful question to ask, and Iā€™m pretty sure that I know the responses you will get ā€¦

Here is mine to start. I have been sitting now for 14 years, with TrustedHousesitters since the very beginning, over 200 sits so many animals, all creatures great and small and Iā€™ve shed buckets of tears. Admittedly Iā€™ve gotten attached to some more than others but I get attached to them all, for the time Iā€™m caring for them, they are mine ā€¦ and I miss them when I leave but the joy is knowing there is another one just a sit away.

We are a community with pets and animals at the very heart of what we do and during COVID our sitter members missed one part of their lifestyle more than anything else ā€¦ the pets!!

Thank you for being part of our amazing community, enjoy the forum and connecting with other pet loving members.

Angela and the Team

4 Likes

Every time I leave a house , I have to adjust to be alone at night and look for them. I get up early because they go pee but nobody around. You get attached to some more than the others. That is why I love repeat sits.

4 Likes

Hi @Angela_L

Thank you for the response. When I lost my bestie, I decided not to get another dog because it just hurt so much losing him. I joined THS because of the love I have for animals and to help with the hurt of the loss. It allows me to spend time with amazing animals. I just never thought I would get so emotional when I leaveā€¦thanks for sharing that I am not the only one that feels this way.

6 Likes

Hi @ Grandma