Doors that don’t lock and personal safety/insurance

Hi All,

I am new to THS and on my fourth sit, I have loved them all so far and love this one too but ……

There are several external doors and some I have discovered don’t lock.

This is the way the HO lives, they have lived here all their lives and rely on the large dog for security and personal safety. But I have become uncomfortable about this (I didn’t worry too much about locking doors the first few nights) and tried to lock all of the external doors a few days into the sit. One door locked easily, one door won’t lock at all and one door I managed to lock but now can’t unlock. I suspect that the doors haven’t been locked for many years.

I have offered to get a locksmith out (I have to pay I guess) but the HO has arranged for a locksmith to come out when they are home in a weeks time.

This leaves me uncomfortable because I am still sleeping in a house that is not secure 24/7 and I feel like the HO might be annoyed that I have tried to secure the house which will now cost money (We haven’t had a conversation about cost).

I knew that security was a lax before the sit but it hadn’t crossed my mind that the doors might not lock at all.

A lesson learnt for me - I need to ask the right questions.

All the other HOs I have sat for have been very security and safety conscious.

Plus I’m not sure how this affects my insurance if anything did happen - I need to find out.

Apart from this I am loving the sit, the HO is really generous and has gone above and beyond with Christmas decorations, baked me am amazing fruit cake, told me to help myself to any food ……. lots of logs for the log burner etc, the location in idyllic and the dogs just the best.

I would love to sit for the HO again but I couldn’t stay without locked doors.

I would welcome your thoughts, both HOs and sitters.