Empathy burnout

Well I’ve been doing this since 2019, on my 17th sit, plus I do a few paid sits here and there. Guess it’s time for a break from petsitting. I’ve had a dog die, one really hard young Doberman barking in my face and needing constant play, now I have a sick puppy and a major storm with damage inside the house all in one sit.
I feel like I’m burnt out. I love the dogs but having 3 big dogs breathing rot breath in my face and crawling all over me while thunder and lightning goes on all night …. Sigh. I’m tired.
Anyone else had this happen after awhile? How I would love a cat sit. Why aren’t there any cats it’s around here? Lol

9 Likes

Hi @KarenM,

I’m sorry your current sit is going tough. I hope the puppy gets better and the storm goes away!

Sitter self-care is so important, just like caregiver self-care! I’m an introvert, so I definitely need to recharge after too much people time, or pet time!

I hope you can find a creative way to take a break. Maybe you can contact one of the emergency contacts for a rest?

–Geoff

3 Likes

Hi @KarenM I have sent you a Direct Message.

1 Like

@KarenM Huge, non-stinky hugs from us. This too will end. We love what we do, but sometimes we are really happy when a sit comes to a close. I think we sometimes give much more love/attention/fun than the owners, so the pets are all over us more often. Just keep your energy calm and set/keep some boundaries. Obviously a storm is a whole different topic. And sometimes a month without pets make you appreciate the next pets more. Or as you say, try a cat! Merry Christmas.

4 Likes