Furniture damage

Hello all! Looking for some advice! Although I’ve been a professional
Household manager and family assistant for 20 years, I am currently in the middle of my first pet/house sit through this platform. Something happened and I’m not sure how to handle it. I brought in a couple bottles of laundry stain remover and set them on the wood piano that the homeowners have next to their washing machine. A couple days later when I picked up the bottles I was horrified to see that there was residue on the bottom of one of the bottles that took the finish off the wood and left an ugly stain. Totally flabbergasted because the bottle was dry with no sign of a leak. I see the host family has a premium membership… does that mean that damage is covered under their membership? Should I text the hosts and tell them this has happened and offer to pay for the repair and ask them if they have coverage? If I have to pay out of pocket for the repair it will likely be hundreds of dollars. I am so upset and anxiety ridden that this happened and pray that it doesn’t mean I get a horrible review. :persevere:

1 Like

This won’t help you but I’m amazed that someone would put a piano next to a washing machine, and that you would put stain remover on top of the piano……
Presumably the piano is old……If so it might not be such an issue for the owners but I would own up to your mistake when they return, don’t tell them while they’re away.

2 Likes

@Lexilass
You made a mistake and are good enough to own up to it.
Personally, I wouldn’t tell the owners as it may spoil their holiday (assuming they are on holiday), its not an emergency so in my opinion, this kind of bad news can wait until they return.
There is nothing they can do so why spoil their holiday?
Good luck anyway.

1 Like

Depends on how you feel about trying to repair it yourself, how valuable the piano is & what sort of HOs they are. Google says you can try this….(depends how confident you are)

u