Help! How do I get a sitter?

Hello,

I am new to Trusted Home Sitters and just posted our home and dates about a day ago. We haven’t received any applications yet and since our trip is soon I’m thinking I should give up? We live in Nashville TN in a very desirable location so I figured we would have at least some interest fairly quickly but perhaps my expectations are not realistic?

Any kind advice is appreciated

1 Like

You’ve only posted your ad about a day ago, and you’re already giving up???

Sitters need to check their calendars, check with their partners if their in a couple, see how many miles it is from the sit they are doing before and after, or even maybe organise time off work if they are sitting part-time.

Plus they may be spending time thinking of how they word their application so that they can be sure you pick them. I write an individual message to each application, because every pet owners requirements is different, and so any past experience I mention has to relevant to what the pet owner has said.

I’m a sitter, and sometimes I apply within an hour, and sometimes I need to figure out the logistics of it first. But try to post your ad well before your dates are due, there are even ads for 2024 on here already.

Also, pop a link to your ad on here so others can help give you some feedback, just incase it’s your ad.

Hope that helps

3 Likes

@HappyDeb Thank you for helping, if you click on the posters users name you will see the link to the listing there. As they are a new member of the forum you will need to copy and paste it into the browser to view the listing (hyper links are not available to new users to start with, it’s a Discourse set-up thing!)
Thanks again for helping :slight_smile:

1 Like

Sometimes I look at the same new listing for days before I actually apply. It takes time to determine how I would get there as well as plan out where to go afterwards. If it’s a desirable area I’m sure you’ll get applications soon

4 Likes