HOs.. Please Give Us Details, Not Just Box-Ticks

I’m a sitter, a mere 12 sits in… And have had nothing but good experiences via THS. But could I please make a plea to HOs: If your home is genuinely Accessible By Public Transport, or if you’re (very generously!) willing to let sitters use your car, please, please PLEASE would you mention it in your listing?! I mean, not just in the tick-boxes.
I’ve had some embarrassing experiences which were unfair to both parties, when the HO has ticked the Public Transport box, but where it’s turned out their idea of “Accessible by public transport” meant, there’s a bus stop two miles away, where buses stop twice a week… Likewise, I’ve seen listings where the “Sitters Can Use Your Car” box has been checked - but the HOs have been surprised and uncomfortable when I asked about it.
I’ve bleated about this before, but I’ve run up against the problem twice since, so I’m being drearily repetitive. In general, in fact… Please, HOs, don’t assume that checking ANY of the boxes is enough… If there’s anything we might reasonably need to know, please spell it out in your blurb. Thankyou!

1 Like

At least in the U.S., where driving is often a necessity, because public transit sucks, many people don’t actually know the specifics of public transit near them. Some hosts might just take guesses when producing their listing.

And with the loaning of cars, I’ve found that a number of hosts intentionally don’t list it even if they’re open to it, because they probably want to decide during video chats whether to make the offer. I say that, because I’ve been on multiple sits when the host volunteered their car later, not in the listing.

2 Likes