How many homeowners do you send your application to at the same time for the same period that you are available?

Hi, I am new to trustedhousesitters and looking forward to my first sit in October.

Now my first questions:
I’ve noticed that sometimes the homeowners take quite a long time to respond to my application.
So, I’m wondering if I should apply to more than one homeowner at a time for the same period that I’m available for a sit to increase my chances of getting a definite sit.
Of course, this would also mean that if I were chosen by more than one homeowner, I would have to cancel the other sit.
The thing is that I travel a lot, so I try to organise my placements as fluidly as possible, one after the other, depending on the time, place, travel time, etc. Of course, I am aware that this is not always possible.

What are your experiences? How do you do it?

1 Like

Hi Deep, Lovely name and welcome.
Apply to as many as interest you in the location you have chosen.
Think of it as you are looking for a job. Find the ones that most meet your criteria. If a HO responds and makes an offer, you are not obligated to accept but if you wait for “something or someone else” that offer may go to someone else.
My recommendation is to apply to as many as possible that you are truly prepared to accept and meet your needs quickly. Don’t wait and don’t make them wait either.
You can only accept one at a time and should not ever cancel once you do because of a “better offer”.
Keep your communication open and if you get offers and are already booked. respond to the HO respectfully. Explain the situation and Thank them and let them know that you would be interested in a future date should one become available.
All the best.
Where are you looking to go?

17 Likes