I love animals but Im allergic to most! Can I still sit a home without furry pets?

Hi all.
I’m a newbie here & wondering if anyone else has this issue and if you’ve still managed to find a house sitting opportunity?

I live in Derbyshire UK and want to House Sit in London to be closer to my family and friends now Lock down restrictions have lifted here.
My Marriage has come to end as I found out a while ago he’d had affairs… We still get on well, most the time as friends, after a lot of good counselling but for my mental health I really want & need time with my family and friends until I’m in a position to move (If I still want to) Especially after the affects of the Lockdowns!

I equally love animals but until my allergies are better I could only look after hyper allergenic animals/ fish/ plants and happily give someone’s home plenty of TLC and keep the place loved and clean!

Id really appreciate any tips to make house sitting still possible for myself, or other websites that might better cater for this?

Huge thanks in advance for reading this far and responding!

A hopeful, Viktoria X

2 Likes

Hi @Viks and welcome! The majority of sits do involve looking after pets, but don’t be discouraged, there are definitely some opportunities that don’t involve furry pals. Sometimes for a longer sit, the homeowner will ask for help with yard work or maintenance that doesn’t involve pet sitting.

You can use the filters regarding pets when you search for sits so your results only include sits with either no pets or the types you choose. You never know what might pop up - for example I just did a quick search and right now there is a couple with a gorgeous home in Hawaii needing a sitter to look after a koi pond and a spectacular looking sit in Italy with no pets!

2 Likes

Wow @Lindsay! Thanks so much for your encouragement and for responding!