Letting sitter use your car

Hi Everyone, this is my first time using this site and I have had 2 sitters apply for the job which I didn’t expect because I have 2 big dogs. One of the sitters asked if they could use my car (I did say in the advert that my dogs are used to being driven to the oval so I understand why this would have been suggested) I don’t have a problem with this if it was a crappy car, but it isn’t. I’m more concerned about how to get the sitters to pay the excess should they have an accident, I have said I would put them on our insurance and they have agreed to pay the excess but this would be on a trust basis, which but I’m a bit worried about. Has anyone else let the sitter use their car, what have your experiences been?

Don’t offer it if you’re not comfortable. Not fair to the sitters if you don’t fully trust them, and probably too stressful for you for the same reason.

5 Likes

But how will the dogs get to the oval without your car? Do you expect your big dogs to be driven in the sitter’s car? Will you clean their car and offer some petrol money?
Welcome to the forum!

1 Like

Nice to know that you’d provide sitters with a crappy car. :wink: How valued that makes a potential sitter feel, I don’t know.

There are many posts here about sitters using a car. You can find one recent one here, and use the magnifying glass to search for others: Home Owner car usage, does anyone do it? - #7 by Smiley

I am in the US and have lent my car twice, without problems. It is a luxury model, but not brand new so I’m not precious about it.

Welcome @katlambrou74
There has been much discussion on the forum around use of a car. Please use the spyglass at the top of the page to search. You will find views and experiences from both sitters and homeowners.

2 Likes

@katlambrou74 Welcome to Trusted Housesitters!