New here and looking for tips

Hi everyone,
My name is Devon and i’m new to THS.

We’re in need of a sitter in Dec as myself and my daughter are flying out to UAE to join my husband in planning our move out there.
Whilst we’re there, we’re looking for someone to house sit and look after our 2 mini dachshunds Bertie and Buzz,

But, I’m struggling to find anyone with true availability over Christmas.
I know Christmas is a tough time to find sitters but if anyone has advice it’d be greatly appreciated.

4 Likes

First - you may find a sitter closer to the dates. I know you want to have one arranged now, but often sitters make last minute plans. I had a Thanksgiving sit listed and most of the applicants came in the 10 days before the sit.

Your house is amazing (I love modern styles) but I would change the first photo to one of the dogs, especially if it shows their size. 2 tiny dogs are easier than 2 large ones, so that might grab attention. Also on dogs - many sitters want to know how long they can be left alone, and how long their walks should be.

Your headline needs to sell the sit to people who are browsing. Only the first few words show on a thumbnail, so make sure that these words tell sitters something they can’t see from the thumbnail listing. You could say “Car included, family friendly, tiny dogs near Edinburgh” This is all info that isn’t obvious from thumbnails.

Add a photo of the living area, and remove some photos of the dogs. 2-3 of the animals is usually enough. I know it’s tempting to add more because they are so cute!

Good luck.

3 Likes

A warm welcome @DevonP and pleased to see you’ve found your way to the forum to get some advice from our very helpful community! Bertie & Buzz are beautiful… I have a huge soft spot for dachshunds, and I’m hopeful you’ll find sitters soon. Have you used sitters before, or is this your first time?