New to THS how long does it take to find a house sitter?

hello! i am new to THS and will be listing my house for a long sit (2.5 months) soon.

i am still working out how long it will take me to drive to Alaska so I have not set my dates.

how long does it usually take to find a sitter? my house is not fancy, but has all of the basics. i don’t have any pets, so the sitter would just keep the house and yard up.

any advice for finding a great sitter would be appreciated :slight_smile:

4 Likes

The fact that it is a longer sit, and minimal responsibility I would think you would have a ton of applicants, even if your house is as you consider “basic”.

I would think the trouble would be deciphering who is a really good fit for you as you may likely get quite a few applications. When is your sit going to be?

3 Likes

I’m a sitter and HO, and the answer depends on a lot of factors. As @thejohnsfam says, a long sit without pets will appeal to a lot of people. Your location will also determine the interest - sits in popular locations (Paris, New York, near beaches, etc) get lots of applicants.

My house is in a city, but not one of the popular ones, and I have one easy cat. I’ve been able to find a good sitter within a week or two. I usually have multiple applicants, but some sent such cursory applications that I eliminate them.

Good luck.

1 Like

thank you both! the sit will be all summer in Northern California

my place is 1.7 miles from the ocean and 0.25 miles from the bay so a great place for an outdoorsy person, especially if they like whitewater, surf, flat water paddling, cycling, and hiking.

5 Likes

Sounds like a fab sit! I have no doubt you will have many applicants to choose from!

3 Likes

@molky - Your listing sounds great and I am guessing your house sit will get a lot of response from full time sitters. If we were not booked we would definitely be applying! - Good Luck

4 Likes