No response after a video meeting - how long should I wait for the HS to respond?

Hi all, I am new to THS and posted my listing last week.
We also had a video call/meeting with one of the prospective HS which went well.
They had to delay the meeting time by a few hours, twice, and we accommodated that.
We were told that we would hear back by the end of the day since they were also interviewing with a couple of other HOs but it’s been over 2 days and I haven’t heard anything yet.
Should I wait for some more time or should I ask them?
Does it make any difference if I decline or they decline the sit?
Thanks!

After the video, if you wanted them to do the sit, the next move would be yours. You’d offer them the sit, and then they would have the option to “confirm” or “decline.” They might be waiting for you to offer them the sit. Did you leave it as they’d get back to you after the other interview? It’s possible they are waiting to hear from the other people and would prefer the other sit. If they take the other sit, and the dates overlap, they will be automatically declined from yours.

If you feel comfortable with them, you should send offer them the sit and let them know to get back you. If you actually offered them the sit, and you haven’t heard anything, you probably should check on the status of another person to see if there is someone ready to take the sit. You can alwasy let the first know that you really can’t wait for them to decide as you might lose out on another great sitter.

3 Likes

I had a similar situation @DogMom404 . We had a video chat with a HS, everything went well, but they wanted to ‘sleep on it it’ before any of us made any decisions. So, we waited till the next day, and told them we’d be happy to confirm them, if they thought this was a good match. As we didn’t hear back from them by the end of that day, we just declined them and went with an an other HS.