Permission from HOs' to post pet photos on HSs' Profile?

As a House Sitter, Is it necessary for me to get permission from Home Owners to post photos of their pets on my Profile? So far, I have asked my HOs’ as a courtesy but I’m wondering if there may be any ramifications if I post photos without their consent?

In the UK, ( and probably around the world), there is something known as Intellectual Property. This includes photographs. If you’ve taken them, the images are yours.
As an amateur photographer, I make it my business to know this. So @Provence your reply is not strictly accurate I’m afraid.
I take photos of the HOs’ dogs with my pro equipment and if I want to use them, I will. The images are mine. One HO has even used one of my photos of her dog on her advertisement on THS! she has never asked me for my permission to do this. I could make a fuss bu5 I’ve house sat for her several times now. Plus it’s a great photo … but it’s still mine!

2 Likes

You are misinformed. My photos are mine. I’ll use them as and when I want. Taking photographs of children or of vulnerable adults, or of landmarks which might identify HomeOwners’ personal information or location is something I would never do, but taking a photo of their tabby and posting it on my face group to friends is my business. If they ask me not to take photos, fine, I have no issue with that. I take photographs at major dog shows throughout the UK and at Crufts and the Kennel Club in the Uk gives me express permission to do this. As long as I don’t then try to sell those images for profit I am free to put those photographs where I please. They are my Intellectual Property. They remain so until and unless I sell them.

1 Like

In the US, photos are intellectual property of the photographer and they retain the copyright to that photo. Photos that contain the likeness of people, cannot be used to sell or promote a product or service without the person’s consent.