Petsitting - How many hours unsupervised?

Hi everyone,
I’m an experienced petsitter but new to THS. I’m interested in purchasing a membership but wanted to get an idea of what Owner expectations are. I’m interested in petsitting, but because I need to go into work, animals would be left unsupervised for ~7 hours. Is this something most Owners are OK with or is there usually the expectation that Sitters spend the majority of the day with the pets? The listings seem to imply most animals could only be left unsupervised for “a few hours” at most usually, which wouldn’t work for me. I’m a veterinarian (no longer working in general practice) so comfortable with all animals. Any insight appreciated.
Thanks!

Post moderated

1 Like

Hi Laura
Every owner is different. Some will want their dog left for only short periods of time, others might be ok with 4-5 hrs. 7 hours is rather a long time and even the RSPCA advises that 4 hours is enough to leave a dog for. The pets are sitters’ priority, or should be, so you may be unlucky in finding someone who will be happy with you going to work and leaving their dog.

1 Like

As a Ho I would be ok with that length of time if it was a cat only sit.
For dogs that wouldn’t work…

5 Likes

Yes, of course cats can be left usually for 7 hours but I was talking about dogs

In my experience, 4 hours seems to be the maximum for dogs. I work from home, so this has never been an issue. If you are going into an office and so are away most of the day, you may not be able to give dogs the attention the home owner would like. Cats are different, of course.

3 Likes

Hi all,
Thanks for your replies, that’s really useful to know.

Welcome @laura358. There is no stock answer I’m afraid to your question. It depends on the HO expectations and what animal you are sitting for. Many HO are upfront and will state their expectations in their listing but if not best checking in your initial chat before accepting any sit.