Sitters notified they now have a dog

This is my first time posting a topic here, so thank you in advance. I have always found very valuable information from this forum and so I am putting my question to you.

We secured a sit for our two dogs with a couple in September. They messaged us to say they have adopted a dog and can their dog stay in our home. I will save you the long winded history of our dogs, their behavior around other dogs and why we do not select sitters who travel with their dogs.

They went on to say that if that does not work, one of them will stay with their dog in the van. I am trying to put my self in their shoes and can imagine it takes some time to put together a series of sits and that this new addition could jeopardize their ability to sit at some of these homes.

We live in a warm climate in September and I find the idea of a dog staying in a van day and night to be cruel (I would never do that to my dogs).

On paper, it seems like a simple enough response to say we don’t entertain other dogs on sits and we’ll have to cancel and secure someone else. I wanted to hear the community’s feedback before responding as I may be missing something entirely.

Thank you.

1 Like

Hi @sacksyboy, as a HO if I was in your position I would cancel the sit. We have 3 dogs and although they are friendly and generally get on well with other dogs I would not be happy for a strange dog to be brought into our house by strangers to live in our dogs home without us. Also like you, I would not be happy with one half of the couple coming in to sit and the other one and dog staying in the van.

3 Likes