THS in “the rest of the world”

I’m a newbie at sitting & a first-year THS member so basically - “duh” I know nothing.
COVID put a stop to the few sits we were dipping our toes in the water with thus far but we had big ideas and wildly imaginative plans. With that in mind, whilst idly moving the map to see sits, it occurred to me to wonder if there are ever sits in the “other” areas of the world - Russia? Africa, other than ZAF? India?
Has anyone been to these, or other non-standard places (for sits)?
@Angela does THS have any marketing strategies, or plans for these sorts of places?

Overwhelmingly, no, there aren’t very many sits in the places you listed. But they do come up occasionally. In our experience, both in observing listings and owners as well as speaking with friends and family from different countries, it’s often a cultural barrier. For example, our family that lives in Mexico are astounded that people let us (as sitters) into their home when they don’t know us. It’s simply not something they would even consider. A colleague in India is also surprised by it, but he argues that even when he takes a vacation his parents or parents-in-law would care for their home and that in many cases extended family live together anyway.

So, it often holds true that the more ‘exotic’ house sits we see are usually expats or owners working abroad.

3 Likes

Of course, excellent point about India & sub-continent but I didn’t know about the rest-of-the-world resistance to having house sitters.
Both THS and the sitter community have a vested interest in getting more owners signed up; I wonder if there are any advertising whizzes who could lend their expertise to this purpose? In the community I mean, of course.