Unread applications and non responses

Newbie here. I’ve secured a couple of sits and have applied for two or three more. I’ve found that some home owners respond immediately but that some don’t appear to read the applications at all. I’m just wondering if anyone can shed any light on this, are the homeowners who don’t bother to read the applications waiting to hear from sitters that they’ve used before perhaps? Seems odd to me not to even read the application…

9 Likes

@MissisE You are SO right…odd indeed (not to mention infuriating)! Sadly in my recent experience, this is happening more and more. You take your time to write a very cordial and informative letter, only to never even have it looked at. I’ve usually waited two days and then wrote to kindly ask if I’m being considered for their pet sit (knowing that the application hasn’t even been opened!) and stating that if not I’d appreciate a reply so that I can move on to apply for other pet sits. AND YOU GUESSED IT, that letter never gets opened either. So it is a problem, but despite TH.com’s email/blog requests to HO to please be kind and reply to all applicants…it has often fallen on deaf ears. I guess that is just the way of the world, people are interested in their needs and often oblivious to others needs. I’ve learned to keep my initial letters either short (so as not to waste too much time writing them), or to have an “initial form letter” that I just quickly update with new HO and pet names, one personalized bit of reply and then send. That way when it never gets opened, I don’t get (as) upset :<

12 Likes

I have run into this on a few occasions. Recently, when I did not receive a timely reply, I applied for another sit that happened to be in the same vicinity over the same dates. It happened that I was offered both sits and felt bad having to turn one of them down. If the HO does not send some kind of reply, they are at risk of losing the applicant.

15 Likes