Why would an owner use a newbie?

Hi, my wife (66) and I (71)are interested in joining but, I suppose, need to know why any owner would use us if we are new house sitters without good TrustedHousesitter’s reviews. Wouldn’t an owner always go for someone with good reviews.
We are Airbnb hosts and users and have excellent reviews from this? Also excellent personal references. I was a teacher and my wife is a nurse.

2 Likes

I have already written this in another thread.
As nearly each more experienced sitter on the THS site has 5-star reviews, and as it is known that the system keeps people from giving truthful reviews, I decided not to rely much on them.
It simply can’t be that there are only 5-star sitters here.

For our next time away I chose a sitter couple, who don’t have any reviews as sitters yet. But, because they said they own are house and have been HOs on THS before, they know how it feels to have strangers in your home.
Another reason why I confirmed them was, that they had cared for their own diabetic cat, which included giving him insulin shots, until he passed away.
During our video chat I had the chance to see part of their beautifully furnished and decorated house. It was very tidy and clean, which you can’t fake just for a video call.
They also said not to worry in case we can’t travel home, because of an always possible Covid-19 infection. They are flexible and could stay longer.
So all in all I felt very comfortable with them and I think I made the right choice.

There were other applicants, some of them with quite some 5-star reviews, but they didn’t feel right to me.

13 Likes

We went with sitters that had few reviews even though we also had other applicants with as many as 50 good reviews. The reviews only tell part of the story and we have always relied on our instincts. We weren’t wrong.

8 Likes