Hi New Here How Does It Work?

Hello, I’m new to this platform! I still don’t quite understand how it works. Do you think someone would give a chance to someone to take care of their pet if they have no reviews on their profile? I always look at reviews, so I would understand if someone hesitates. Probably I don’t have a chance in this case without a track record

2 Likes

@Ligia - Welcome Ligia everyone has to start somewhere. We joined THs 6 months ago.

If you have experience with looking after pets - your own, families or friends - this is enough to get started.

Once you become a THS member you can ask these people to give you a reference which will be seen along with your profile . In your profile, you can Include photos of you with the pets you have looked.

It’s a good idea to start applying for local sits where the HO can meet you in person beforehand .
Or you can apply to a HO who is also new and who also doesn’t have any feedback yet
If you can make yourself available for a last minute sit HO will be really grateful.

If you don’t have any experience with pets at all -you can volunteer for a local pet sanctuary or walk a dog for an elderly neighbour- That way gain some valuable experience and get references that way .

We started by house- sitting and taking care of our friends pets when they went on holiday . Then we joined THS 6 months ago - we used the references from friends that we had house- sat for over the years . With only these references we were accepted for 6 sits - we now have completed 5 of these THS sits and have 4 more confirmed and booked in.

6 Likes

@Ligia welcome to the forum. You are going to find great answers from great members here who have so much experience as sitters as well as those who are HO’s/Pet parents and can give you direction on what they look for in a sitter.

I see you have not joined TrustedHousesitters yet. Here is a link to give you information on what to expect.