Applications: personal or practical, long or brief?

Hello!
I’m new to TH as of May 2023. I’m on my 2nd sit and have a few applications in the mix out there right now.

Question for both sitters and HOs:

In the application email - is it best to treat it like a cover letter essentially? To be a little personal, make connections to the HOs listing or pets, to share more in a personal way in letter form?

This has been my MO thus far and it’s been getting me great matches, but I do take a lot of time to craft a nice, personal letter style application for each sit.

But I’m wondering if some Sitters just keep it brief like -
Hi! I’d love to sit for Poppy on this set of dates! Please see my profile for my experience. I meet all your requirements and am happy to have a video call.
Done?

As HOs - what do you prefer and why?
As Sitters - what’s worked best for you getting sits you want?

Thanks, All!

Hello @KellySue_Nate & welcome! We’re experienced sitters who secure nearly all the sits we apply for (in a non smarty pants way). Always send a personal application that mentions the pets by name, habits, meds if relevant, our experience, a bit about where they live, our reviews & availability to video chat and a bit more. Treat it like an application for a gig/role/job that you really want and you’re way more likely to be successful. Which it sounds like you’re doing well already :raised_hands:t3: Note of caution. Don’t do the latter. Every HO we know who gets those “I’d love to sit for Poppy, please see my profile” thinks they’re lazy and deletes them instantly.

7 Likes